Progressive Canadian Party responds to Justin Trudeau Liberal proposal for Senate Reform Addendum PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 21 January 2016 08:12
Addendum: Justin Trudeau’s Liberal government has appointed the chair and federal members of the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointment and named the ad hoc provincial members from Ontario, Quebec and Manitoba.  Manitoba’s NDP government is said not to have participated, citing the party stance favouring Senate abolition.
The Board includes chair Huguette Labelle, a former deputy minister in several federal departments and former university chancellor, and two permanent federal members with academic and university administration backgrounds.  The ad hoc provincial members from the three provinces include a former public servant and the president of the Native Women’s Association of Canada from Ontario; the president of the provincial college of physicians and an Olympic gold medalist from Quebec; a singer-songwriter and the president of the Winnipeg United Way from Manitoba.  All are distinguished Canadians.
According to the Toronto Star, Democratic Institutions Minister Maryam Monsef believes the Board is representative of the people Prime Minister Trudeau wants to populate the Senate.
Although excellence in merit is clearly represented by the Board, knowledge of the federal government and parliament and independence from partisan choice in their selection, and consequently in their choice of nominees for appointment to the Senate to present to the prime minister to recommend to the Governor General, is as clearly open to question. (Toronto Star, January 19, 2016 p. A6)
The Progressive Canadian Party believes that nomination to the Governor General by a substantial quorum of the Queen’s Privy Council, which would include the prime minister and such distinguished Canadians, will better represent independence as an advisory body in its historic role and in its choice of nominees to the Governor General.
Brian Marlatt
PC Party 2015 candidate-of-record South Surrey-White Rock
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Last Updated on Thursday, 21 January 2016 09:02